playing with books

This morning I remember Ellen Gilchrist writing about getting down on the floor to play with her books.  I want to find that passage.  With my coffee in one hand, I begin to pull her books off the shelf.  I think it’s in Falling Though Space, her journal, but I can’t find it.  Next I thumb through The Anna Papers.  It’s driving me crazy.  I’m not saying it’s not in either of these books, but I can’t find it.  Now I’m down on the floor, surrounded by every book Ellen Gilchrist has ever written. 

I had things I wanted to do today–like write.  Instead, I’m pouring another cup of coffee, with my finger holding the place in Falling Through Space, where Ellen Gilchrist writes, “The hardest thing to get hold of in the world is the truth; the easiest to keep once you capture it, once you know it plain.  So I believe, but then I can’t stand secrets.  I want all the cards on the table.  I want to know what’s going on.” 

When I find the passage that started this lovely side journey, I will let you know.