Winter Contrary

The Winter issue of Contrary is live, and there’s lots to celebrate. First, Writer’s Digest voted Contrary one of the 50 Best Online Literary Markets. Second, my story, “The Empty Armchair,” published in the Autumn 2009 issue, was one of the top ten most viewed pieces for 2010. Thanks to all who clicked over to read it. Third, I’m the new Review Editor for the journal. I had no idea how much I would enjoy editing. Lots of interesting books reviewed in this issue too–Mourning Diary by Roland Barthes; Horse, Flower, Bird by Kate Bernheimer; Voices at the World’s Edge edited by Paddy Bushe; and more…

Finally, my review of Susan Froderberg’s debut novel, Old Border Road, appears in this issue. Here’s the first paragraph:

It’s not unusual for a character in a book to find herself in an unfamiliar place, but what is unusual is for a reader to experience firsthand the sensation of unfamiliarity as she reads about the character. In Susan Froderberg’s début novel, Old Border Road, the reader finds herself in the unfamiliar world of repetition. Repetition—which Froderberg wields like a wand, transforming familiar words into unfamiliar sentences.

Read more…

Happy New Year to all of you!

14 thoughts on “Winter Contrary

  1. Congratulations on both your viewing and new position! You pack a lot of emotion and detail into one short story. I liked how you framed the story with Matisse’s art and avoided a trite ending.

    Happy New Year!

    Like

  2. I enjoy peeking into your world, seeing what you are reading and writing. Froderberg and her book intrigue me, I am a variation on the theme of repetition myself…

    Happy New Year. Here’s to another year of books, words and the worlds they create.

    Like

  3. Darrelyn, thanks so much for always being there.
    Erika, I think you’ll enjoy Contrary.
    Linda, I appreciate it.
    Tricia, thanks for your support of Contrary.
    Sarah, thanks for your nice reading of the story.
    And Terresa, nice to see you out and about again.

    Sorry to be so, so late in responding. I appreciate all of you and your comments. Wonderful writing wishes for the new year!

    Like

  4. Cynthia, I just saw this. Congratulations. It’s a lovely magazine and wonderful to see your story get so much attention. Sorry we only managed to nod and wave across crowded rooms at the residency. I don’t know about you, but I’m beat.

    Doug

    Like

  5. Pingback: Winter Contrary | catching days « Numéro Cinq

  6. Cynthia, I won’t soon forget the experience of reading The Empty Armchair for the first time—one of the great thrills of my editing career at Contrary. And now you’re among us! Thank you for bringing your talent to us…we are lucky.

    Like

  7. Thanks, Doug. And I appreciate your posting this on Numero Cinq. Of my three residencies, this one seemed particularly packed and devoid of free time. Not sure quite why.

    Like

  8. Frances, your comment warms my heart. The Empty Armchair was the first story I ever wrote and is based on my novel The Painting Story. It will always be special to me, and I don’t think anybody could have published it as beautifully as Contrary did. Thanks so much for liking it. And I’m the one who’s lucky to be joining you. Give Cora a hug for me.

    Like

Comments are closed.