shifting light

From Colorado, California, New York, New Mexico, Oregon, Virginia, Louisiana, Georgia, and Germany–we are a writing group that meets twice a year in person and exchanges manuscripts two other times by mail. We read a book a month and discuss it online. We also eat and hike. Sometimes we dance or howl. Ten to twelve women, depending.

Last week we met in Creede, Colorado, at Pam Houston’s ranch. For one, it was the first meeting with the group. For me, it’s the beginning of my fifth year. The food was spectacular–maybe even better than usual–or maybe I was hungrier. On Wednesday night Summer Wood read from her new novel-in-progress. On Thursday night we sat outside and listened to the sounds of MoJones as the light shifted above and around us.

3 thoughts on “shifting light

  1. Not sure I missed this, but I just stumbled on it. I too am amazed it’s been 5 years for you. That means it’s been 5 years since I left since. No wonder I miss Pam and Creede and the amazing community (and the food!) so much. It was so great to reconnect to that past life again this weekend, but time and money both have to be prioritized elsewhere right now. Toni Morrison sure made it sound easier than it is to write with small children.

    Like

Comments are closed.