clock radio: 322/365

il_570xN.607993474_crat

Around 1970 or so, we added on to our house, and I got to choose the wallpaper and the rug for my very small, but my very own, room. I chose blue and green and cream striped wallpaper and a blue and green shag rug. I had a trundle bed, a nice antique desk that’s in our room now, a chest of drawers, a stereo, and a night table with a clock radio.

I loved that clock radio–a Christmas gift from my grandparents. Lights went out at ten, but I would set the radio to sleep–to play for twenty minutes or so as I fell asleep. There’s nothing quite like lying in the dark with your homework done and your clothes laid out for the next day, listening to a radio station playing “A Bridge Over Troubled Water,” “The Long and Winding Road,” or “Venus,”and then the voice of the DJ…

~

 365 true things about me
why this daily practice

2 thoughts on “clock radio: 322/365

  1. I had a red digital clock radio until I married!!! I should have kept it!! I thought it was so cool and took it to college with me.

    Like

  2. Mine was the fake wood, but red sounds great. And I can’t remember if I took mine to college or not. I hope I don’t ever forget that feeling of lying there in the dark, listening to music…

    Like

Comments are closed.