2015: 353/365

images (1)

I imagine it’s because of this practice that I feel no sense of an ending tonight but rather a sense of rolling on through. I feel really good, really comfortable with where I am. And I’m looking forward to 2016.

This year, there’s no sense of not being ready for the ball to drop. I’m ready.

A gift for you–a list of the best books I read in 2015.

Best novels:

  • History of the Rain by Niall Williams
  • Lighthousekeeping by Jeanette Winterson
  • A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara
  • The First Bad Man by Miranda July 

Best essays:

  • Island of Bones by Joy Castro
  • Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay

Best poetry:

  • The Book of Nightmares by Galway Kinnell

Much gratitude to the days of 2015.

~

 365 true things about me
why this daily practice

8 thoughts on “2015: 353/365

  1. Thank you for the reading recommendations and the many insights and stories you’ve shared this year with your blog. Kudos to your for completing this project!
    How lovely to brook this ending and beginning feeling “really good, really comfortable, with where I am.” Wishing you good health, much joy, many moments of laughter, and only the best kinds of surprises in 2016!

    Like

  2. Happy 2016! I’ve enjoyed catching your days and truths in 2015. Quite an accomplishment and persistence doing all these daily posts all year. Appreciate the reading list too.

    Like

  3. Thank you, Teresa, for your thoughtful comment…although I haven’t exactly finished yet. 12 more posts to go–I didn’t get started until January 13th! Wishing you health and joy and laughter and surprises in 2016 too!

    Like

  4. Thanks so much, Doug. Good to hear from you. A few more details about the novels–The History of Rain was a delightful tumble into a world of books. Reading Lighthousekeeping felt like being caught up in the music of the Pied Piper. A Little Life I couldn’t put down despite its difficult subject matter. Ditto with The First Bad Man despite its abundance of sex! Happy New Year to you!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.