postcard from methow

I feel as if I’m in Austria, but it’s the Methow Valley in the foothills of Washington’s  North Cascade mountain range. On Wednesday I flew into Seattle and then drove east for five hours–through the city, along rivers, over a pearly sea-green lake, through the snow-piled northern pass that had only opened the day before, and into the cowboy town of Winthrop. Add to that the company of the poet Ross Gay, and I would have flown all the way out here just for the drive. But there’s more–we’re on day four of readings and writings and hikes, and when it’s time to eat, food is passed family style. Last night wagons pulled by Clydesdales took us into the woods to the old homestead where a cowboy sang “Ring of Fire” and we toasted the biggest marshmallows I’ve ever seen and smashed them into smores. It’s Writing by Writers’ second annual Methow Valley conference. In addition to Pam and Ross, Lidia Yuknavitch is also teaching. Her reading Thursday night sent a line of people to my spot in the corner where I sold copy after copy of The Book of Joan. Now I’m off to write…  xo ~cyn

8 thoughts on “postcard from methow

  1. I figured out how to sign in…don’t know what my problem was. Anyway, so good to see you, and to hear Lydia read! I love Writing by Writers. What a resource.
    xo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Patricia! So great to see you in person and now here! I loved Lydia’s reading. And Ross read from his work in progress–Book of Delights. Pam read her essay about her mother that was just in Elle Magazine. Good luck with your writing! Put me on your mailing list when you publish the next thing! xo

    Like

  3. It was wonderful in every respect–but I’m prejudiced since I’m on the board. We have readings and panels and workshops and we’re all in it together. If you’d like a less biased opinion, our friend Renee Thompson from Sirenland was at Methow last year–she’s also been to our conference in Tomales Bay. We’d love to have you, Teresa!

    Like

  4. It was great to see you, though I’m sorry we didn’t have a chance to share a meal or glass of wine. I had a wonderful time. Garth was delightful, and though I was with a very young group they were amazing writers and generous readers. Now I’ve expanded my posse of young friends!
    Be well, I hope our paths cross again soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It was great to see you again too, Teresa. The days went too fast. I had thought we would surely have enough time for a lunch or dinner together. I’m so glad you had a good workshop! Next time, we will sit down on day 1!

    Like

Comments are closed.